Take a nap already

Posted: August 18, 2014 in humour, parenting
Tags: ,

My little one just turned a year this July. She is a very sweet and loving little girl. The thing is, she thinks she doesn’t need naps anymore. I miss the days where she would be up for two hours then take a nap, be up for two hours, then nap. Oh those days were so peaceful. Then the hours began to get farther apart and now she can make herself go up to eight, yes, eight hours of non stop play, before she will lay down her sleepy head and I am ready to tear my hair out!

Everyday it is the same routine. We get up around 7 then she goes down for a nap around 11, back up 30 minutes later, then it is a fight to get her to lie down before 4. First it starts with “Time for a nap”, then “Come on baby, lie down”,  and we rap it up with “just go to sleep!” Most days I just give up and let her go, crying and whining, til she just can’t go any farther.

I do look forward to 8pm tho. That is the time when she has had her bath and some warm milk, takes her paci and favorite lovie, carrot, and lies down on the bed next to me and falls alseep. A little sigh of relief passes over me. I marvel in her sweetness and kiss her little head. I then tiptoe out of the room and silently pray I don’t step on the creaky board that is right in front of the bedroom door.

I know she does not understand her mommy’s pleas for her to rest. Not to mention a break to regain my sanity. But then again, maybe she does.

 

Comments
  1. Megan L. says:

    Oh the nap…we nicknamed our daughter no-nap Nora. She didn’t nap until I had her little sister Audrey she Nora was just two. I think the new baby wore her out 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

